How to build your own light table!

I had an email a couple of weeks about where to get a light table and discussing the cost. I lost the email some how, so I thought I would do a post in response.

The light table that I use was purpose-built by a lovely parent a couple of years ago, so I went and looked for instructions on the web. I liked these instructions as they were written by an Australian using metric measurements, with materials available from Bunnings.

I went on the Reggio Emilia Tour back in April, and was inspired by the light table innovations at REmida, which I think could be merged with these instructions as I think the circular light fitting suggested on this site would work better.

They use storage containers from places like Reverse Art , Reverse Garbage, or my local Resource Rescue.

The containers look like this, brown with metal bands, they are then spray-painted silver, with round perspex placed on top and the light inside, with cords coming out the bottom.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Children's Play, Programing and Planning

Leave a Reply

June 2012
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  
